About Us >The Secretariat of the Enhancing Employment of People with Disabilities through Small Enterprise Project

The Secretariat of the Enhancing Employment of People with Disabilities through Small Enterprise Project

 

Objective

The objective of the Project is to enhance the employment of persons with disabilities through market-driven approach and direct creation of more work opportunities for Persons with Disabilities. Through the payment of grants as seed money to NGOs, the Project supports the creation of small enterprises/ businesses, (the "Business" which expression shall, as the context may permit, include the proposed business before the grant, the business approved for the grant and the business created or carried on with the grant) to ensure people with disabilities can enjoy genuine employment in a carefully planned and sympathetic working environment.

Guiding principle

To achieve the above objective, the number of employees with disabilities should not be less than 50% of the total number of persons on the pay-roll for the Business. For the employees, a proper employer-employee relationship such as the entitlement to the normal employment benefits as defined under the Employment Ordinance etc. is expected. For the purpose of calculating the percentage under this paragraph, in case if there is any consultant or other similar person who receives any consultancy or management fee from the Business, the consultant or the person himself and all his/its employees shall be deemed to be persons on the pay-roll of the Business.

Who are eligible to apply

The grants from the Project are open for application by bona-fide charitable NGOs which have their own distinct legal entities authorized to carry out business activities in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region. These NGOs must have tax-exempted status under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112). They may or may not be receiving subventions from the Social Welfare Department. For NGOs not receiving subventions from the Social Welfare Department, documentary proof of their having tax-exempted status under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112) to the satisfaction of the Director of Social Welfare and to substantiate their having actively engaged in welfare and charitable activities for at least two years before the submission of the applications have to be submitted with the applications. The applicant NGO may create and conduct the Business in its own name or by way of a wholly-owned subsidiary incorporated for this specific purpose. In the latter case, documentary proof of the relationship between the applicant NGO and the wholly-owned subsidiary has to be submitted with the application. In any event, separate books and accounts of the Business are required to be kept.

Form of funding support

Funding support is given in the form of a non-recurrent grant to the grantee to assist them to pay the necessary set-up cost in respect of equipment, fitting-out works, etc. and / or the operating loss for the initial period up to three years. The level of support will be determined by the Assessment Panel with reference to the applicant's projections submitted in accordance with para. 3.3.4 and any other factors deemed appropriate. The maximum amount of a grant is $3 million per application. Supplementary grant will normally not be considered.

Guide to Application and Application Form
Details of social enterprises in operation (as at 31.03.2018) can be downloaded below

 

Frequently Asked Questions
  1. Who is eligible to apply?

    Only bona-fide charitable non-governmental organisations (NGOs) which have their own distinct legal entities authorized to carry out business activities in the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region with tax-exempted status under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112) can apply the funding. They may or may not be receiving subventions from the Social Welfare Department (SWD). For NGOs not receiving subventions from SWD, they have to be actively engaged in welfare and charitable activities for at least 2 years before the submission of applications.

  2. Is there any restriction on the business nature?

    The business to be applied should be legal under HKSAR jurisdiction and at least 50% of the total number of employees on the pay-roll for the business is persons with disabilities. The business should be operationally viable and financially self-sustainable after three years' operation.

  3. Can NGOs apply the funding with other collaboration parties?

    Only NGOs with tax-exempted status under Section 88 could be the applicant for the funding and any profits derived should be used for the creation of more employment opportunities and improvement of the working conditions for persons with disabilities or other charitable purposes as approved by the SWD.

  4. Can NGOs apply funding in support of a business having commenced operation?

    The funding is to support the creation of new business through providing financial assistance in meeting initial capital cost and operation loss for a maximum of 3 years. Business in operation is not eligible to apply.

  5. Is there any timeline in submitting the application?

    NGOs can submit the application to Project Secretariat all the year round. The Project Secretariat, including the Marketing Consultancy Office (Rehabilitation) staff, will conduct preliminary screening and may seek clarification or supplementary information. A Project Assessment Panels will consider the proposal and formulate their recommendations on the applications.

  6. Is there any funding limit?

    The maximum amount of a grant is HK$3 million per Business. Applications for supplementary grant will normally not be considered.

  7. How will the approved funding be disbursed?

    Under normal circumstances, grant for the capital expenditure will be made on reimbursement basis and running costs will be paid at the intervals as agreed by Director of Social Welfare. Disbursement of the grant in general will be based on specific milestones in the development of the Business, taking account of circumstances of individual cases.

關於我們 >創業展才能計劃秘書處

創業展才能計劃秘書處

 

職權範圍

「創業展才能計劃」的目的,是透過以市場導向為主的方式,及直接為殘疾人士創造更多就業機會,以改善殘疾人士的就業情況。「創業展才能計劃」透過撥款資助作為起動基金,以協助非政府機構開設小型企業╱業務(「業務」在本指南內泛指在獲得資助前的建議業務、經核准獲撥款資助的業務和藉資助而創立並延續的業務),確保殘疾人士可在一個經細心安排而且氣氛融洽的工作環境中真正就業。

主導原則

為了達到上述目的,殘疾人士僱員在每項業務中所佔比例,應不少於該業務受薪僱員總數的50%。僱員可期望享有適當的僱傭關係,例如享有《僱傭條例》所界定的一般僱傭福利。就計算本段所述百分比而言,倘若任何顧問或類似身分的人士從業務中收取顧問或管理費用,則該顧問或人士本身及其所有僱員,均會被視為本業務的受薪僱員。

合資格申請的人士

凡真正屬慈善團體並為獨立的法律實體,獲授權在香港特別行政區從事業務活動的非政府機構,均可申請「創業展才能計劃」的撥款。這些非政府機構必須根據《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條,具有獲得豁免繳稅的地位。他們可以正接受或未有接受社會福利署的津助。對於現非接受社會福利署津助的非政府機構,則需在提出申請時提供文件,證明其具備《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條所述獲得豁免繳稅的地位,以令社會福利署署長信納為合,及證實其在遞交申請前最少有二年積極參與福利和慈善活動。申請的非政府機構亦可用自己的名義,或透過為此目的而成立為法團的全資擁有附屬公司去創立和經營業務。若為後者,則需在提出申請時提供文件,證明申請機構和全資擁有附屬公司的關係。在任何情況下,均需要就該業務保留獨立的記錄和帳目。

資助形式

我們會以非經常性撥款形式向受助機構提供資助,幫助他們支付必要的開業費用(包括購買器材及支付裝修工程費用等的開支)及/或應付首三年的營運虧損。評核委員會參考申請機構按照以下第3.3.4段所要求而提供的預算,以及其他有關的因素後,決定資助的金額。每項申請最高可獲 300萬元撥款。額外補助通常不會被考慮。

申請指南和表格
營運中的社企資料(截至2018年3月31日)可以在這裏下載

 

常見問題
  1. 什麼人士合乎申請資格?

    凡真正屬慈善團體,具備獨立的法人資格並獲授權在香港特別行政區從事業務活動的非政府機構,均可申請本計劃的撥款。這些非政府機構必須根據《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條,具有獲得豁免繳稅的地位。他們可以正接受或未接受社會福利署的津助。對於現非接受社會福利署津助的非政府機構,則需在遞交申請前最少有二年積極參與福利和慈善活動。

  2. 遞交申請的業務有何限制?

    所申請之業務為香港特別行政區法制下可合法經營,而殘疾人士僱員在業務中所佔比例,應不少於該業務受薪僱員總數的50%。業務計劃須可行,並在運作三年後自負盈虧。

  3. 非政府機構可否與其他合作團體一同提出申請?

    只有證明及具備《稅務條例》(第112章)第88條所述獲得豁免繳稅的地位之非政府機構才可申請本計劃的撥款。從業務所得的收益必須用以為殘疾人士創造更多就業機會及改善他們的工作條件,或作社署批准的其他慈善用途。

  4. 非政府機構可否就營運中的小型企業/業務提出申請?

    本計劃是透過撥款資助作為起動基金,協助非政府機構開設全新的小型企業/業務,以應付創業初期的資本開支及最多首三年的營運虧損。營運中的小型企業/業務是不可以申請本計劃的撥款。

  5. 本計劃是否設有申請期限?

    凡符合申請資格的非政府機構均可在全年任何時間向計劃秘書處遞交申請。計劃秘書處連同康復服務市場顧問辦事處會就所有接獲的申請進行初步篩選。他們或會向有關的申請機構要求澄清或提供補充資料。計劃評核委員會會負責考慮有關申請,亦會就有關申請擬訂建議。

  6. 資助金額有否設上限?

    每項業務最高可獲300萬元撥款。額外補助的申請通常不會被考慮。

  7. 已批核的撥款怎樣發放撥款?

    一般情況下,有關資本開支的撥款,會以發還款項形式支付。此外,有關經營成本的撥款將會按照社會福利署署長認為恰當的時段發放。資助金額通常會根據業務發展的進度以及個別的情況而發放。